How To Start Reading Marvel Comics: Matt Murdock, Daredevil

Do You Want To Start Reading Marvel Comics?

Here's How You Can Read Today About Matt Murdock, Daredevil

First Appearing in Daredevil Issue 1 in 1964, Matt Murdock is just a kid who would change his life by saving another man’s. By pushing a man out of the way of an oncoming truck, Murdock was seriously injured and while blinded, developed other abilities. From then on, The Devil of Hell’s Kitchen fought for justice inside and outside the court room.

The Man Without Fear has a ton of great story arcs since his first appearance and one of the best is Frank Millers take on the character. This run is incredibly important to how he is portrayed today and takes you through timeless stories like Born Again, The Man Without Fear, The Last Hand, and More

Frank Miller Reading Order:

Daredevil (1964) Issues 158-191, 226-233

Daredevil: The Man Without Fear (1993) Issues 1-5

Like Miller, Brian Michael Bendis also had a revolutionary run on the character during the Marvel Knights era. This run sees Matt Murdock beaten and broken and mustering everything he has to rise up to the challenges he must face. 

Brian Michael Bendis Reading Order:

Daredevil (1998) Issues 16-19, 26-81

Last and certainly not least is Chip Zdarksky’s Run. Starting in 2019, the series sees The Kingpin as the Mayor of New York and the problems this causes for the Murdock as the story marches towards Devils Reign and a relaunch of the title in 2022.

Zdarsky Reading Order:

Daredevil (2019) Issues 1-36

Devil's Reign (2021) Issues 1-6

Daredevil (2022) Ongoing Series

Check Out Marvel Unlimited or Amazon (Affiliate) For Collected Editions

Stay Handsome